Sight

Sight Chapter 1: Oldmerrow’s Loose Screw

If you are wondering where on earth this came from, feel free to find all that out here.
_____

1
4:14 p.m. | Ranny’s Diner
“Will you guys hurry up?” Chad says. “I promised Mai we’d be there to pick her up at 4.” It was a chilly Friday afternoon. The guys and Chad’s girlfriend, Mai, along with her friend Kimberly had plans to go catch a screening of a new horror flick downtown.

2
“Yeah, yeah. We’re coming.” Cailean and Gus say simultaneously as they trail behind from their parked car on the way to Ranny’s Diner.

3
A few moments later, the neon sign lights come into view. “There you are.” Mai says leaning in to give her boyfriend a quick peck.

4
“Were you waiting long?” Chad asks after they break apart.

5
“Not really. Kimberly should be here soon.” Mai says before turning to speak with the girl walking out. “Have a nice night, Aislyn!” She exclaims. “Yeah, you too.” The girl, Aislyn, replies quietly, not bothering to stop or smile as she walks away.

6
“What’s her deal?” Cailean asks, taken aback by the girl’s apparent attitude as he and Gus join the couple. “She’s a co-worker who I think might be dealing with some issues.” Mai replies.

7
“There’s a lot of talk about her.” Kimberly says upon arrival.

8
“The girl’s nuts.” She adds as Cailean turns to her questioningly.

9
“Don’t be rude Kimberly.” Mai says. “She’s probably been through a lot.” “Right.” Kimberly says sarcastically.

10
“They say she spends most of her time at the graveyard. And she’s often seen talking to herself like a loon. She works part-time at the library with my friend Amber; apparently they call her Loose-screw Lyn.” Kimberly says, gesturing with her hands for added effect.

11
“That’s a shame since she looks pretty hot. Who knows, maybe a little crazy could be fun.” Gus says with a grin. Kimberly tuts in disapproval while Cailean rolls his eyes.

12
“Shouldn’t we get going?” Cailean asks. “The film starts soon and we already got our tickets online.” He adds trying to steer the conversation away from the apparently troubled girl. Gossip wasn’t his cup of tea.

13
“He’s right, we should get going.” Chad adds. The girls eventually simmer down and follow along to the car to head downtown to their film.
___

14
5:32 p.m. | Sequoia St.
“Look, I said no. Okay?” Aislyn says.

15
“Come on dear, why not?” The woman following her questions.

16
“Because I hate getting into other people’s business.” Aislyn replies without turning around.  “Especially more so if family is involved…” She adds. “That’s not what I’ve heard. Besides, you know you’ll never see me again if you help.” The elderly woman beckons.

17
Aislyn considers this for a minute before eventually caving. “What exactly do you want me to do again?” She asks with a sigh.

18
“I knew I could count on you. I’ll be eternally grateful.” The elderly woman says. As if that’ll do me any good now. Aislyn thinks sarcastically.

19
“Lead the way.” She says aloud.
___

20
6:45 p.m. | Martha’s Pub
“You’re Ms. Maverly, right? The owner here?” Aislyn asks after taking a seat. It was an hour’s walk to get here and she was already regretting agreeing to the elderly woman’s request.

“For over forty years now.” Ms. Maverly says with a grin whilst pouring drinks. “Calling me Martha is just fine. Can’t say I’ve seen you around here before, doll. I thought you young folk like to hang out at this time on a Friday evening. Are you here alone?” She asks.

21
“I guess you could say that.” Aislyn says with a weak smile. “Actually I’m here to speak with you, someone told me to pass along a message.” She adds.

“Oh really? And who might that be?” Ms. Maverly asks slightly taken aback at the direction the conversation was going.

“Your sister.” Aislyn replies. “I think you are mistaken my dear.” Ms. Maverly says. “My sister is…

22
… dead.”

__

Thanks for reading! This was a bit shorter than I had originally intended for it to be since I feel that giving one lengthy post today already was enough. I was hoping to take this story in a completely different direction than anything else I’ve written. I tend to do a variation of romance/drama and occasional mystery, and while there shall still be all of that in this as well, I also wanted to introduce a tad of the supernatural.

Feel free to let me know what you thought; I’m still messing around with the writing style. I nearly always use first person so I’m also taking this opportunity to break away from that. This is still a work in progress so bear with me.
Take care~
xoxo Amy

35 thoughts on “Sight Chapter 1: Oldmerrow’s Loose Screw

  1. Ooh what a great start! I still haven’t completely figured out which boy is which though (they all look so good haha). Is the one with dark hair Chad, white hair Gus and blonde hair Cailean? And is this a first person or third person perspective? There’s an ‘I’ right at the start of the story, is it supposed to be ‘he’?
    Cailean is my fave character already, he seems quite reserved and mature (plus he’s pretty!).
    Aislyn seems like a very interesting character. I feel sorry for her that she’s made fun of. Going off the story name and some of the dialogue… can she see ghosts? Is that old lady a ghost? I’m really looking forward to seeing what this power (if it is) will lead her into. And I wonder how the other five characters will come into play…
    Nice chapter! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yup you’ve nailed all of them. I’m attempting to write in third person – and struggling while doing so, lol. Whoops, that beginning ‘I’ was something Chad was saying, but I forgot to put it in quotes and went back to fix it, good catch~ Hahah I’m glad you like Cailean he’s my fave as well ;D Yup that is her ability, to see ghosts, I debated making them look like actual sim ghosts, but for the purpose of story telling decided against it, there is something different about them though that you will see next chapter. The one after next has all the details and whatnot explaining it too so bear with me as I attempt to construct this 🙂 Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oooh this is very interesting!! What a great start! 😄 Aislyn is veeeery pretty and the boys are all lookin’ good 😉
    But poor Aislyn, having ghosts bothering her all the time..! I really love where this is going, looking forward to reading more! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh my! These are some good-looking sims! I love the name Aislyn. 🙂 The first thing I noticed is how everyone is wearing short sleeves, midriffs and shorts and she’s wearing this huge fur coat. I’m wondering if that has something to do with her character. Does she easily get cold? Maybe because she has ghosts looming around her? Haha! I love the coat though. I’m already drawn to your main character so that’s a good thing. Looking forward to what seems like a love triangle based on the header. Great start!!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Yup you are quite observant, the winter gear is something I planned on mentioning a few chapters down but you already pretty much nailed it XD Glad you like her 🙂 Thanks for reading~

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I feel like I have to apologize. I’m sorry. I tend to have fun trying to figure out where a writer takes a story. (Why I like Westworld types of shows.)

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Please don’t! I’m the same ☺️ and the point of including little hints or mysteries (at least for me in my writing) is to see if people pick up on it whilst reading so you’re fine~

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Aww that means a lot, I wasn’t sure what you guys would think. I have everything worked out in my head but wasn’t sure I’d provided enough detail/explanations 😅 I had to cut some corners this time for the sims since I didn’t want to over invest in making them after losing all my previous sims so I’ll probably make a page to show where I got the premade ones I tweaked a bit to get these characters (with the exception of Aislyn whom I made from scratch) ☺️ Thanks for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Your Sims look sooo good! I feel bad that Aislyn gets teased, but I guess that’s reality if you’re a little different… And she can see ghosts and talk to them?! That’s so cool! I can’t wait to see how this’ll turn out!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Oooo! Ghostly stuff! I’m intrigued…

    And I have no idea what you were talking about! What pre-mades?! Not those fine sims!?! O_o

    Also, on the side of pre-mades, they can be fun! My entire first generation Mayfields were all slightly edited pre-mades from the bin! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha glad you like them 🙂 I’m thinking of making a CC/where did I get that page when I have some time. I’m enjoying taking some shortcuts for now :p That’s cool to know, I shall be bombarding you with notifications soon as I’m on a catch-up-with-stories-spree at the moment! Thanks for reading~

      Liked by 1 person

  6. First things first, you’ve got to link me to the cc you’re using because it’s amazing! Second, I’m getting Goblin vibes from this story. Goblin is a Korean drama where this girl can see and talk to ghosts but no one else can, and the only reason she has that ability is because she’s the Goblin’s bride (who is destined to save the Goblin from his immortality). It’s a really good show, you should give it a watch if you’re interested, but anyway, Goblin vibes. I’m interested to see where this is going!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha I shall, I’m currently working on a WCIF page and saving my sims/CC having learned from the fiasco of losing everything XD I actually did watch this show. it was good! I was actually thinking of a novel I read when I drew inspiration, I forgot Eun-tak could see ghosts, I only remember her talking to the grim reaper(s) lol, but I can see it now that you mention it. Glad you like it so far! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Well, time to binge this after seeing your interview. I’m really looking forward to it – I love me some romance with fantasy elements 😀 Hope you’ll forgive the like spam – it’s how I keep track of where I’m at. This is a great first chapter. Very intriguing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Welcome! I’ve been meaning to do the same for your story as well, it has been on my list for a while now. I tend to do the same with the sporadic notifications, so no worries at all – (expect to see mine as well XD) Thank you~ I hope you enjoy ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  8. A goodlooking bunch of youg adults – and then there’s Aislyn… Pretty in a subdued way, with clothes that covers her forms and an intriguing backstory I’m anxious hearing more about!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Oh my gosh! Okay. Right away, I love love love where this is going! That’s not what I was expecting (now the title makes a lot more sense lol) but I was so excited to see it play out! When I saw the old lady following her I was like she’s totally dead. Oh this is the coolest, love this setup! And Aislyn is soooo dang pretty! I can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hello! Haha my internet connection is atrocious at the moment so I didn’t get these notifications until after I posted on your page, haha *facepalm* Yup, lots of dead folk incoming… that sounded darker than I had intended for it to 😂 Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoy~

      Liked by 1 person

  10. “Working progress” I would say you have a nice writing style, Amy 🙂

    well… imagine walking into a pub and having that said to you at the end of the conversation

    I have to admit had a look at the new chapter you just posted and it made me a little curious about the eyes of a character you called J.D.

    Aislyn means beautiful dream… I just looked it up 🙂 that’s a really nice name. I have to remember that one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh thank you, I appreciate that! It was my first time not writing in first person so it’s been a challenge for me 😅
      Yeah, that would certainly be a startling encounter. J.D. is a special character in several ways, you’ll see more of him to come.
      I actually did an interview for a friend’s blog a while back explaining the meaning of Aislyn’s name! Her full name is Aislyn Clarissa Persefoni, with Aislyn coming from the Irish for dream/vision, Clarissa from Latin for bright/clear and Persefoni from a derivation of the Greek word Persephone for death/bringer of death. Because she is someone who can clearly see those who are dead, her name came from searching for words with those meanings that also worked as names~ I agree that it also sounds quite pretty 😊 I appreciate you taking the time to look it up! Thanks for reading 😄

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment